I met a rhino in Ngorongoro, is that possible?

ng00_top

I have always said that nothing is impossible, just slightly improbable. But when you least expect it it might happen, just like that. And you don’t know it beforehand, but if you just say that it’s impossible, you might not notice it and miss the opportunity. So let’s say less probable from now on.

ng03

Impossible to see rhino

Before going to Serengeti and Ngorongoro I was said that it’s almost impossible to see a rhino. There are so few of them, so you have to be lucky, very lucky. Impossible? Neh, maybe less probable. But we saw them, not one, but four then and there. Impossible?

I met a rhino in Ngorongoro and it made my day. Few other places as well, but that first time in Ngorongoro was extra special. I was on my first safari trip, first visit to Africa ever. Another post is here. I want to return to this spectaular place, yes, I do. The initial thought was that we were not going to see so much and that the nature films must be a photographer waiting for hours, days, and weeks. And there were animals everywhere. And we saw rhinos as well.

ng04

Coming down to Ngorongoro crater we hoped to see Rhino as well. But we were not sure, you know, impossible, or almost. And we saw it! First one, very close, it just walked behind our truck like nothing happened. A while later we saw a whole family, one large and three small ones. Wow! I was speechless.

After that we saw one at Nairobi National Park and two more by lake Naukuru, but the first time in Ngorongoro was the most special one.

ng05

Family, one more young was just behind

ng07

In Ngorongoro

Faith of rhinos

Rhinos are very much endangered. That’s sad. Some people seem to think that their horns are ultimate medicine. And some others just kill them to steel the horns and sell for lots of money. Greed, that’s very much human. Can this be stopped? I’m sad to say, but as long as someone is willing to buy the horns the answer is no. People cannot be nice to each other, simply by greed, then they cannot be nice to animals either. Not everyone of course, but as long as there is one doing it, it’s one too many.

Many would say that it’s impossible for rhinos to survive human greed, pocher’s hunt for horns, no matter the price. But it’s not impossible to save the rhinos, it might take an effort, but it’s not impossible.

ng08

A smaller inhabitant of the area

Impossible to win

“It’s impossible to win, let’s not waste our time.” We went to an travel and adventure fair and visited an African travel agent. If you don’t compete I would use word impossible this time, but if you do it is possible. So I did compete. And today I’ve got a mail anout first price. Being doubtful I checked their webpage and there was my name. Impossible? Not really.

So now I’m planning to use my prize and go on another trip to Africa to see those impossible, I mean less probable to see animals, like rhinos or leopards.

Links and globes

Ngorongoro Conservation Area has been a world heritage site since 1979.

Some links:

My grade to Ngorongoro is still five globes.

GlobeGlobeGlobeGlobeGlobe

//Monika

Daily Prompt: Impossibility.

via Daily Prompt: Impossibility.

Tagged , , , ,

16 thoughts on “I met a rhino in Ngorongoro, is that possible?

  1. […] I met a rhino in Ngorongoro, is that possible? | World’s heritage travel […]

  2. […] I met a rhino in Ngorongoro, is that possible? | World’s heritage travel […]

  3. […] I met a rhino in Ngorongoro, is that possible? | World’s heritage travel […]

  4. […] I met a rhino in Ngorongoro, is that possible? | World’s heritage travel […]

  5. […] I met a rhino in Ngorongoro, is that possible? | World’s heritage travel […]

  6. […] I met a rhino in Ngorongoro, is that possible? | World’s heritage travel […]

  7. PragueByKaty says:

    Hi, I nominated you for Sisterhood of the World Bloggers awards here http://praguebykaty.wordpress.com/2013/03/22/praguebykaty100/, because I think your blog is gorgeous.

  8. snosler says:

    Holy crap I get scared just looking at those picture – clearly, the dinosaur “myth” is no ,myth!

  9. […] I met a rhino in Ngorongoro, is that possible? (worldsheritagetravel.wordpress.com) […]

  10. stephglaser says:

    How amazing and fantastic! Indeed the visit to Ngorongoro must have been special. Thanks for sharing the experience and thank you so much for checking out and following Travel Oops! Cheers, Steph

  11. Neely Wang says:

    How wonderful that you saw a rhino! All your experiences seem so exciting!

Leave a Reply

